Breath of Life
Daniel Kooman | Writing and Directing Inspiring Stories
Writing & Directing Inspiring Stories Ep. 4
1
0:00
-20:20

Writing & Directing Inspiring Stories Ep. 4

The CHARACTER episode. And why the best stories are character-driven.
1

Don’t you love character-driven stories? They’re my favourite. Liam Neeson in Taken. Mel Gibson in Signs. The slum dog in Slumdog Millionaire.

We get sucked into good character stories, because we relate to at least one key element of the character in a story. We may not have Liam Neeson’s ability to eviscerate bad guys, but we relate to his will to fight for his daughter. We may not be an ex-priest struggling with a crisis of faith like Mel Gibson’s character in Signs, but we have had our own questions and faith battles too. And we almost surely didn't get on Who Wants to be a Millionaire as an impoverished slum dog in Mumbai, but we know that our story has destiny in it too.

Daniel Kooman is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, become a free or paid subscriber.

Character is also more nuanced…it speaks about the traits of a person and their mental or moral qualities. The protagonist, or lead character in the story, more often than not has character traits that align with a positive moral worldview. If they do not, more often than not, the storyteller is unpacking the character’s journey to becoming more moral in character by overcoming a key obstacle in the story.

I hope you enjoy my character episode in this new podcast episode. Drop a comment or a like. Consider upgrading to a paid subscriber to receive an UnveilTV subscription and access to the films and stories we are telling. This not only helps us cover our costs, but will bring inspiring content into your home / living room. It might even build your ‘character.’

Thanks for listening!

Keep breathing,

Daniel Kooman

Keep Breathing,

Daniel Kooman

My new book is slated for 2023 release

Donate to support the completion of my new book titled: Sons of the Father

I will also send you the first edition if you donate $50 or more to help me get this book completed. Every bit of support is a HUGE encouragement.

Own my first book today to dig into the themes and nuances about Breath from Scripture in a much deeper way.

Watch our original films including Breath of Life on UnveilTV

Founding members get the book and Full Breath of Life Series as part of their subscription. Thanks for your support!

Order Breath of Life with Amazon Prime shipping
1 Comment
Breath of Life
Daniel Kooman | Writing and Directing Inspiring Stories
What does it take to write or direct an inspiring story? Are there ways I can increase my creative output or engage my imagination in my daily life? I share some of the treasures I've unearthed through storytelling, talk about films I made, films I watched, books or scripts I've written, and share a few stories from my life that will engage your own creativity. I also read excerpts from my latest written works and talk about the films I've directed.