Breath of Life
Daniel Kooman | Writing and Directing Inspiring Stories
Writing & Directing Inspiring Stories EP. 3
0:00
-31:45

Writing & Directing Inspiring Stories EP. 3

Finding the theme song in the story of YOUR life. The Music episode.

The guitar they played on their new album was built from the floor boards of Jimi Hendrix childhood home. We pull inspiration from the things that impact us in our daily life. And then we share our inspiration, if we are willing to, with the world.

Why are we drawn to the music and the stories that come from a place of inspiration? Where does inspiration itself originate from? And is it possible that the impactful pieces of art throughout history all came from the same place…the same Source, breathed by the Spirit?

In this inspired 3rd Episode of my podcast I’m joined by professional musicians Desmond Day and Lonny Eagleton as we enter into their visionary and imaginative experiences in storytelling through writing music and lyrics. We learn about what makes them tick, as Daniel unpacks his views about the Source of inspiration, and challenges listeners to become Indiana Jones on their own great adventure. And mic drop: Daniel explains why he believes King David, the Psalmist is still the most famous writer who ever lived.

Lonny Eagleton, Daniel Kooman & Des Larson (Desmond Day)

Lonny shares that, “You play music from what inspired you today.” So take in the moments throughout your day. Accumulate the experiences of your life, and write every day down. Take a moment to turn something, possibly even something that is minimal or unimportant, into a panning for the gold in that experience. What can you bring to your audience, based on what you’ve received from others? We also talk about the reciprocal elements of creation. How sharing your creativity will serve you as well.

We also talk about ‘leit motifs’, the path to light and the path to darkness, standout themes from our individual stories, and uncovering what musical theme we are walking out in the soundtrack of our life. It’s time to write new lyrics and walk into the sunset. If you can find the secret sauce of the motivation of your own life, then you’ll know that even in the mundane moments you’re walking the walk.

If you are inspired, and you write it down, OTHER PEOPLE will get life and inspiration from your passion as you tell your story.

Search “Desmond Day” or visit desmondday.com to find Black Gold and Purple Sun, two new songs by my guests Des Larson and Lonny Eagleton.

0 Comments
Breath of Life
Daniel Kooman | Writing and Directing Inspiring Stories
What does it take to write or direct an inspiring story? Are there ways I can increase my creative output or engage my imagination in my daily life? I share some of the treasures I've unearthed through storytelling, talk about films I made, films I watched, books or scripts I've written, and share a few stories from my life that will engage your own creativity. I also read excerpts from my latest written works and talk about the films I've directed.