Breath of Life
Daniel Kooman | Writing and Directing Inspiring Stories
Writing & Directing Inspiring Stories EP. 1
0:00
-25:17

Writing & Directing Inspiring Stories EP. 1

Engage YOUR imagination. That will hook your audience.

What story are you writing and directing in your daily life? Have you ever thought of yourself as a storyteller? I don’t mean just for that 5 minutes when you put your kids or grandkids to bed. I mean in your everyday life. Because we are all writing a story.

And one of the secrets to great storytelling, is to engage the imagination of your audience. We are all hooked if someone tells a good story.

I have found the best way to tell a good story, whether in conversation or in a book or movie, is to engage your OWN imagination. If you are gripped by something, then you can engage your audiences’ imaginations with it too.

Don’t try to think about what your audience will think…try to think about what YOU would think. What engages you? What makes your heart beat faster?

In this episode you will learn about my view on Creativity, how I define it and how I try to engage my own creativity for the stories and films I tell.

But the story you are writing or directing doesn’t only apply to filmmaking.

It applies to the story you are writing or directing in the home, in your marriage, in your school or church or workplace. It applies to pretty much every part of your life. I have a, dare I say, gold nugget in this episode about how to bring people into your interests or passions too. It’s not by throttling them with every piece of knowledge you have on a subject. It’s more subtle but far more effective. But you’ll have to listen to catch that gem.

I also read an excerpt from Breath of Life. You can find the whole book in paperpack, ebook and audiobook versions here with prime shipping on Amazon.

Thanks for listening, and please drop me some comments or share this if you enjoy it.

In Creativity,

Daniel Kooman | Author and Director of Breath of Life

Breath of Life Three Breaths that Shaped Humanity by Daniel Kooman
0 Comments
Breath of Life
Daniel Kooman | Writing and Directing Inspiring Stories
What does it take to write or direct an inspiring story? Are there ways I can increase my creative output or engage my imagination in my daily life? I share some of the treasures I've unearthed through storytelling, talk about films I made, films I watched, books or scripts I've written, and share a few stories from my life that will engage your own creativity. I also read excerpts from my latest written works and talk about the films I've directed.